Lazy Days and Long Weekends

Standard

Well its been another long weekend here in the UK as we had our spring bank holiday. I hope you all have had a nice time and to my American readers Happy Memorial Day! I have had a really long lazy weekend with the family which has come in handy as for some reason my pain levels have been through the roof. Saying that I was surprised when I got a little gift from Sakura Europe comprised of some pens and pencils for me to test out. Needless to say this improved my mood drastically and I cannot wait to review these items.

Goodies from Sakura Europe

Goodies from Sakura Europe

One thing I have noticed recently is that I seem to have been feeling my pain more and more. Which started off taking me away from my colouring and my art as I was letting it take over again but now I have started to fight back. Hopefully now we have the school holidays I can catch up on a lot of the sleep I lost the past two weeks when I was waking at silly hours of the morning.

During these past few weeks I found that people were or are questioning my disability. I had one person comment the other day when I was getting out of the car and into my wheelchair. Using the car to help me I managed to pull myself from the car to standing and then sat in my chair. They questioned if I was disabled at all. I have even had one person in the past report me to a traffic warden for using a blue badge illegally because I was too young to be disabled. I have had all sorts of comments lie the ones above and others such as your just lazy and need to try harder, your only after sympathy and the favourite of most is but you don’t look ill.

There are days where I can manage on just my crutches and other days where I need my chair to get about. It all depends on the severity of my pain although I am finding that I am needing my chair more and more. My age is not a contributing factor either. Fibromyalgia does not discriminate in any way shape or form. Comments like these still hurt though as much as I try and not let them get to me.

I would say the moral of this is that you should never judge until you have at least walked a mile in that persons shoes. You never know what that person is really going through. They may be smiling on the outside but on the inside they might be in agony and struggling to get through the day. There is a reason I say I am fine when people ask how I am and that is I don’t want sympathy I just want to get on and muddle through and not burden anybody. Its a pride thing that anybody suffering from a chronic pain condition.

Anyway I am going to sign off now as I have lots of goodies to be playing with and the night is slowly disappearing.

R x

About RiaColourful

I'm Ria, a married mother of one. I want to share my life as a disabled person with a love of arts and crafts. I spend my time on the various arts and crafts that I enjoy. I also write reviews on colouring books, colouring pens and pencils and other art media. I dream that one day I will use my skills to produce the best adult colouring book ever so that I can make millions and retire to Greece with my family.

Leave a comment